Highlights from San Diego

April 1, 2010

Today we dipped our rear tires in the Pacific Ocean.  This is a symbolic ceremony for transcontinental cyclists.  You dip your rear tire in one ocean at the beginning of the ride, and the front tire in the other ocean at the end of the ride, and therefore you have truly bicycled “across the country”.  After the ceremony we went on our first team ride: North on Highway 101 out to Batiquitos Lagoon and back.  Biking on 101 is so beautiful!  There are all these great little communities that you pass through and everyone is out exercising and living well.

I’ve been pretty satisfied with my biking so far (although it’s probably 90% my bike, and 10% me).  On the way out my buddy Sam and I were the front-runners, drafting each other as we sped out to the turn around point.  Once we got there we grabbed some coffee and waited for the rest of the team.  On the way back, I wasn’t able to hang with the front-runners, although there were a couple times when I was able to give them a run for their money.  The first time I came up on them while they were stopped at a red light, as it turned green I blew past them up the hill.  Sam yelled out, “Nyberg’s on the assult!”  They eventually passed me, and then I did it again.  Next time they passed me, it was for good.  The end of the ride was a 400-foot hill at 13% grade.  It was pretty brutal climb, but I was able to get up without stopping, and felt pretty awesome for conquering another challenge.  Every day that I bike well gives me more confidence that I’ll actually be able to bike across the country.

Stay well, True Believer!

&.

One Response to “Highlights from San Diego”

  1. bonnie hankinson said

    KEEP ON TRUCKIN’, DREW!!!! WHAT A BEAUTIFUL
    PART OF THE COUNTRY~OUR FAVORITE!! HOPE THAT SEAT IS PADDED WELL!! GO FOR IT TODAY! MINNESOTA “BUNNY” HUGS..XO..US ALL

Leave a Reply

