Blessings for my trip

March 7, 2015

Many people come to the Himalayas seeking enlightenment and blessing from the Hindu and Buddhist masters who reside there. Before starting out on my great journey into the Himalayas, I also sought spiritual enlightenment.

 

The church I attend in Park City, Mountain Life Church, has partnered with a church in Kathmandu, Nepal. In fact, the weekend my parents and I first came to Utah to look for a place for me to live, Pastor Rajan was meeting with a group of men from the church I would start attending 6 months later for breakfast at the same place my parents and I were meeting. So while I had not met the man, I had seen him and heard his story.

IMG_1100

The Greater Grace Church is located in a district of Kathmandu called Pepsi Cola, and when I told the taxi driver I wanted to go to Pepsi Cola, he looked at me strange, then asked why I was going there. I told him I was going to visit a church, and then asked him why the area was called Pepsi Cola. He told me that this was where Pepsi Cola was bottled for the country of Nepal.

 

The church is located just down the road from the bottling plant, and true to form for all churches in countries where Christianity is in the minority; they make do with what they have. But in reality, it looks like they are thriving! On top of the local pastor, they also have a missionary from Baltimore Maryland who is running a Bible College with approximately 25 young men learning how to teach the Word. They also have an active women’s ministry that met after the main worship service. Like many Protestant churches around the world, young adults lead worship with guitars, bass, and a drum set.

IMG_1099

The biggest surprise of my visit, however, was when Pastor Rajan and Pastor Jon took me to the orphanage the church has started. They provide a home for 20 children who would otherwise be out on the streets. Pastor Rajan told me the story of one boy who had learned to fill a water bottle with sand and water because it made his stomach feel more full. At the orphanage, the children receive a safe place to live, water from a reverse osmosis filter system, vegetables, and occasionally eggs and chicken. They also attend a school where they are taught English along with Nepali, so that when they become adults, they will have greater opportunities. By American standards, these children don’t have much, but what they do have is a foundation from which they can build a successful life.

IMG_1114

I was able to make a short film of these little orphans singing in both Nepali and English.  If you’d like to watch it, you can see it here.

 

Leave a Reply

